Statement from Jay Lewis Taylor

This site is for a single use. It will not receive updates.

 

Jay Lewis Taylor wishes it to be known that she regards Manifold Press as acting well within their rights when they ceased transacting business with her.

 

While it is not unusual, and has not been for some years, for woman writers to adopt male pseudonyms, to pretend to be a man was and is unacceptable – and, in addition, to pretend to be a gay man.  My only excuse, if any excuse there can be, is that I had nil experience in the m/m publishing world until I joined Facebook as a Manifold Press author.

 

Far worse is the fact that I continued the pretence while making friendships, although not specifically as a means of making those friendships, and so have deceived and hurt two particular people, despite liking and respecting them, very badly indeed over a sustained period. This is unforgivable.

 

I am deeply ashamed of my selfish behaviour, and have made my apologies to these people in private, as I hope I have to anyone else I may have hurt.

 

While some of my colleagues in the Press knew that I was using a male pseudonym and asking to be identified as male for writing purposes, I stress that none of them was aware of the level to which I had taken the pretence until a few weeks ago, when I confessed. Since then they have been trying to persuade me to own up, a path which only my own fear and obstinacy blocked. Under the circumstances Manifold Press was right to cease transacting business with me as soon as possible.

 

The fault rests entirely with me, not with Manifold Press, nor with any colleagues or readers kind enough to remain friends with me despite everything.

 

To the two I have most hurt I can make no reparation for the betrayal and distress I have inflicted on them. If I knew how, be sure that I would.

 

To anyone who wishes to argue, your targets are not on here: I am the one to blame. I have destroyed  all the social media links to me and my books that I can, but

 

 

will find me.

 

Jay Lewis Taylor is not my real name. My only reason for hiding that is to protect, not myself, but others. I fully acknowledge my guilt in this situation.

Leave a comment